Final Year – Ideas and Conceptualising

For final year, I am certain that I would like to work 2D. However whether that is After Effects motion graphics style, or frame by frame work I am unsure. I have been researching a lot into what I like and what inspires me to see which I would prefer and feel would be achievable while working solo in my last year.

I started by jotting down ideas first, and finding artists that inspire me. And I could then focus on the programs and style I wish to use later. This was just brainstorming to get some ideas on paper first.

Sketchbook:

Recently I finished playing the game Gris, and I fell in love with everything about it! The colour, and lack off, the soundtrack and the style of art. It was all very simple and clean, and it made me look into that style further:

I also really loved the art style from the film Klaus, so I came across this video and found it very useful to learn about lighting:

Also researching a bit on ToonBoom before getting started myself, as I was a little overwhelmed with all the options!

 

I also came across this beautiful animated short, and later found the process that the artist posted. They showed their whole animation process and it was a very helpful insight:

I found watching the process very interesting and also led me to think and consider rotoscopping. I really enjoyed seeing the artists work, and it definitely has made me lean more towards working in ToonBoom and frame by frame animation as I think the results are much more charming.

 

I am currently still producing work for the CF Healthcare unit at City Hospital, but once that has ended, I am very eager to get started learning and drawing more!

Leave a comment