Body Mechanics Animation

We first began by posing the rigs before animating them to get used to how they work. I tried a few poses:

Walk Cycle:

When it came to the walk cycle, I looked at many videos for reference for styles of walk and what mood I wanted to convey. I decided on trying to animate a moody/angry walk style as I found the movements in the emotion very interesting. I wanted the character to appear to be stomping and a little big moody.

 

Body Mechanics Animation:

For this part of the project I spent a long time trying to figure out what kind of action I wanted to portray. I looked into emotes from games as they were quick actions. I looked at Overwatch, Fortnite and emotes from Uncharted 4

I was still unsure of what I wanted to do, and it wasn’t until further research. And finally decided that I would have the character try to push an object. I struggle a lot with animation and found that I had several attempts at this, before having a final outcome:

Leave a comment